Project Two

I was not a big fan of this exercise.  The opportunity to apply creativity was very limited. I had to try and get creative with things like kerning and positioning.  I did have fun playing with the movie titles, and thinking about how the placement could allude to what the movie was about.  My thought process was first, looking at the adjectives that Ellen Lupton used in her Word Project.  I got ideas from that as well as the book.  Then, I thought about what movies could be described with those adjectives; and then positioned the letters accordingly.  For Finding Nemo, I thought that “lost” or “journey” would describe the movie.  Hence, the cascading, random letters spelling out “finding.”  The Hunger Games is all about “elimination” and “falling.”  I incorporated that with the fading “n” in the movie title.

Leave a comment